Coaching for the Drive Home

The first run of my REDZONE7 Football Training program is almost in the books. When I look back on the entire experience I can draw great pride in knowing I became a better coach. I likely learned more about the game, the type of coach I want to be and how athletes want to be coached during this 6-month run.
I realized that I had a lot more to give from a personal experience standpoint. I essentially knew more than I had every imagined and was blessed to have shared it with the athletes.

I was reminded of my time as an aspiring football player. Slowing down the process so that everyone “got it” as we worked through different coverages and reads became an invaluable part of our training. I wanted to be coached up when I didn’t have the answer rather than be coached down or out. Creating students of the game became my singular goal.

I created a line of communication with the parents. I made sure to take the time to talk to each parent after our training sessions. If I coach up the kids based on the philosophy that knowledge is power the same must apply to my relationship with Mom and Dad. It’s important that I celebrate their son’s success and discuss the area’s that he may want to work on in his bid to become a better football player. I look forward to discussing the training module, what we did within the workout, why we did it and how we went about learning and growing. I do this so that every training session becomes a positive building block moving forward. An athlete may have 3 things to work on but they are not negatives. They are growth opportunities.

On occasion, I will bring the parents on the field to explain to something that we are working on. It could cover 1 vs cover 3, pre-snap keys and blitz adjustments (sight adjust or at the line audibles), it could be how the linebackers body language can give away a blitz threat. The subject matter is secondary. It’s the element of sharing that is important.
I do this so that the family can enjoy a healthy post workout conversation during the drive home. It becomes a shared experience for all.

I was lucky in that I have a dad who was a professional athlete. He just got it because he had been there and done that. The conversation in the car after a practice or a game was always something I looked forward to. I don’t remember the scores of the games I played but I remember my parents unequivocal support of my endeavors.

The parents work hard and pay good money to have their son train with me…it is only fair that I give them the highest rate of return on their investment.

Leave a comment